Steven Spielberg: A Life In Movies

I picked this book up a few months ago because I’ll be watching Saving Private Ryan in the Fall with a film discussion group I’m starting with my job.

I read the reviews of the book online and many of them said, essentially, “She gets the big picture right, but she misses some of the details.” For example, she says Saving Private Ryan won the Oscar for Best Picture. Actually, it was beat by Shakespeare In Love. She also talks about a Road Runner cartoon in one of his movies and how the Road Runner continues to get blown up, fall off cliffs, get hit with anvils, etc… I don’t know what Road Runner cartoon she was watching, but that sounds more like Wile E. Coyote to me.

Aside from that, I have really enjoyed the book and it’s made me want to go through Speilberg’s list of movies one by one. Certainly it’s not the first time I’ve seen many of these movies, he has plenty of classics under his belt (and Jurassic Park is my all-time favorite movie) but there are plenty I haven’t seen and I am really interested in putting these movies in context with is life.

This will be a long term project, one that I will chronicle here on the blog, and I’m really looking forward to it.

You’re welcome to join me. The first movie is Duel from 1971.

This entry was posted in Spielberg Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

